Google News 2022 Equity Fund for independent newsrooms employing between 1 – 50 full-time Journalists (FTE) Globally

Deadline: July 21, 2022.

Google News 2022 Equity Fund for independent newsrooms employing between 1 – 50 full-time Journalists (FTE) Globally

Applications are now open for the Google News 2022 Equity Fund for independent newsrooms employing between 1 – 50 full-time Journalists (FTE) Globally. Google has established a ‘News Equity Fund,’ a global commitment to provide financial assistance and opportunities to news organizations that primarily serve underserved groups.

The goal is to increase inclusiveness, empower a diverse news ecosystem, and specifically help small and medium-sized publishers who are producing original content for underserved audiences around the world.


Funds will be disbursed in one installment. Funding amounts will vary depending on the size of the newsroom and number of eligible applications received.

Eligibility for the Google News 2022 Equity Fund for independent newsrooms employing between 1 – 50 full-time Journalists (FTE) Globally

  1. Open to small and medium-sized news organizations producing original news for underrepresented audiences.
  2. The News Equity Fund is open to independent newsrooms employing between 1 – 50 full-time journalists (FTE).
  3. Eligible applicants may include for-profit or nonprofit traditional news organizations, digital natives, newsletters, podcasts, radio and/or TV broadcasters, and trade press associations whose members cover underrepresented groups.
  4. Eligible applicants should publish journalistic content regularly.
  5. Eligible applicants need to have a focus on core news provision, i.e. not lifestyle, sports.
  6. Eligible applicants must have a verifiable digital presence (such as a website primarily providing journalistic content) and have been in full operation for at least 12 months.
  7. Incorporated or registered associations or organizations, registered academic or non-profit bodies representing underrepresented journalists and organizations are all eligible to apply as long as you are based in one of the eligible geographies.
  8. Government-owned entities or entities affiliated/owned by a political party are not eligible to apply.
  9. Only online applications in English will be considered.

Eligible Regions

Asia Pacific
Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, Cook Islands, East Timor, Easter Island, Fiji, Hong Kong SAR, India, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Macau SAR, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Vietnam

Austria, Albania, Andorra, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Ukraine (excluding the so-called Donetsk People’s Republic (DNR) and Luhansk People’s Republic (LNR))

Middle East and Africa
Algeria, Angola, Bahrain, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Brazzaville), Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Iraq, Israel, Ivory Coast, Jordan, KSA, Kenya, Kuwait, Lesotho, Libya, Lebanon, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Palestine, Oman, Qatar, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, UAE, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zimbabwe

North America
Canada, United States, United States Overseas Territories

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Navassa Island, Netherlands Antilles, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint Vincent and Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, United States Virgin Islands

Latin America
Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela


For more information, click here