DHET Nurturing Emerging Scholars Programme (NESP) 2022-2023 for South Africans 

Deadline: 5 August 2022

DHET Nurturing Emerging Scholars Programme (NESP) 2022-2023 for South Africans 

Applications are now open for the DHET Nurturing Emerging Scholars Programme (NESP) 2022-2023. The Department of Higher Education and Training is pleased to announce the implementation of Phase 2 of the Nurturing Emerging Scholars Programme (NESP). The NESP is a three-year programme that includes a 2 year Master’s scholarship followed immediately by a 1-year academic internship at a recruiting South African university.

5 NESP positions involving a scholarship for Masters study at a Public French university, offered in partnership with the French Embassy in South Africa, and an academic internship at the recruiting South African university. The opportunities are divided into: Opportunity 1 (study opportunities in France) and Opportunity 2 (study opportunities in SA).


  • Cost of registration and tuition for the Master’s degree;
  • Guidance and mentorship;
  • Assistance with potential international mobility experience;
  • Enhancing your research and teaching abilities;
  • A year of internship in South African University after completion of the Master’s degree.

Eligibility Requirements

In addition to meeting the University’s standards, applicants must:

  • Show interest in becoming an academic;
  • Be 35 years or younger;
  • Be a South African citizen;
  • A minimum average of 65% attained in an appropriate Level 8 qualification;
  • Show commitment to placement at the recruiting South African University for the full 3 years of the programme (2 years studying at any French public university, and 1 year of internship at the recruiting South African university)

Fields of Study

  • Marine Science Physical-Oceanography
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Information and communication technology
  • Statistics

How to Apply

Candidates must use the specific platform to submit an online application:

To apply please click on the position below.

Cape Peninsula University of Technology

Central University of Technology

Durban University of Technology

Mangosuthu University of Technology

Walter Sisulu University

For more information, please click here!